Tags

, , ,

It’s February and the Layout A Day (LOAD) challenge is on again! I’ve participated in this challenge plenty of times and haven’t come very close to actually completing a page a day for a whole month. I think my best record was 15 pages in 28 days. I’m OK with that. LOAD is my creative bootcamp/kick-in-the-pants. It is when I explore my creative process and notice where I tend to get stuck and find ways past those stuck points. Good things to keep in mind these days. I’ve been struggling with my creative  perfectionist tendencies a fair bit lately.

I was away from home from January 31 to Febuary 3, so that was a bit of a challenge. I couldn’t take much scrapping supplies with me on our ski getaway, too much gear packed in the van already. So I brought a tiny shoulder bag with scissors and a few basic supplies and about five page kits. No trimmer, no selection of alphas, embellishments, punches, or anything. Turns out it was great having so little stuff to look through. Scrapping was simple and relaxing. Might try that out at home, too.

Wordless Layout

Our first prompt was to scrap a page without ANY words. Impossible! I have so few photos to choose from. Then I saw these photos of my boys at a playground last spring. Do I really need words to describe their energy? I’m not so keen on the photo arrangement I used, it looks too much like a plus sign to me.

Look Both Ways

I have loved this photo for years and just haven’t gotten around to scrapping it. So much green space in the photo. But I remember them running across the field at top speed, then stopping and looking both ways at the deserted bike path before crossing to get to the playground. So sweet.

Water Bug

I used some really old supplies on this one. Does anyone remember Rain Dots by Cloud Nine? I bought a bunch when I was just a rookie scrapper and haven’t used many. But the recent enamel dot trend reminded me of them and their transparency works much better here.

5 Year Plan

The prompt on day four was to scrap about our goals. During our ski weekend, I kept thinking about our dream of having a family sky home. Not sure whether this will be feasible, but wanted to put it down on paper at least.

So far, I have four layouts for five days. Not perfect, but I’m not going for perfect. So far, so good.

Enhanced by Zemanta