And I’m loving it! My eye has been drawn to the colour grey lately. It’s become the cardstock colour I reach for most. I’m loving the way it grounds other colours giving them life without quite ‘popping’ like they would against black. A few examples:

A Year of Tough Breaks

Started this one about my broken arm and my mom’s declining health this summer, but couldn’t bring myself to write the journalling until recently. It was too raw as I was living it – as far as I’m concerned 2011 is done, bring on 2012. The grey is a good ground for the black, white and the pop of red while conveying some of the emotional tone.

Here the grey takes on a warmer tone, but still neutralizes and grounds the orange.

This dove grey is so warm its almost brown, but works as a contrast to the blue/green of the patterned paper.