This page was inspired by a challenge at Two Peas for the NSD weekend crop. The challenge was to scraplift a Garden Girl and I chose Nancy Damiano’s layout ‘Dream Sanibel’ It’s not my natural style, but it incorporates lots of details that I love – stitching, contrast, texture and ‘little bits’. Of course, I made the colours brighter, distressed the edges, and made it more ‘boyish’ to reflect my photos. Looking at it now, I see ways I could have taken it a little further with stamping, and I really miss the twine/stick element.

This is a rather familiar design for me. Simple, lots of white (or grey) space, title, photo, paper, journalling. Sometimes I’ll add some embellishments, sometimes not. I really enjoy these simple, quick pages as much, or more than the more complex ones. They feel comfortable and safe. That’s it. It’s good to have a creative ‘home’ to return to after stretching my wings a bit and feeling a little wobbly.